All Opinion articles – Page 13

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2009-02-06T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft says independents want more marketing help - not less - in today's tough times

  • Opinion

    In my view: David Rees

    2009-02-06T00:00:00Z

    Would anybody like a job? No, I’m not resigning, I’m asking because apparently Tesco has 10,000 new vacancies to fill and Asda has 7,000 more.

  • Opinion

    ACS in action: Government must quickly defuse a business rates time bomb

    2009-02-04T00:00:00Z

    Government must quickly defuse a business rates time bomb, says James Lowman

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2009-01-23T00:00:00Z

    The tragedy that unfolded at Fairfield Post Office, where young Craig Hodson-Walker was murdered on January 9, is a frightening example of how vulnerable neighbourhood stores can be.

  • Opinion

    Think tank

    2009-01-23T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM explains why food to go is a great opportunity that c-stores aren't exploiting

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    So there you have it. It's not peer group pressure that starts young people smoking, not parents, not irresponsible adults...

  • Opinion

    Think tank

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM says it’s time to think diets and detox to ensure a healthy start to 2009

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft says new strategies could beat off the gantry ban - and has a plan of action

  • Opinion

    ACS in action

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    Here ACS chief executive James Lowman predicts the political areas to hit home in 2009

  • Opinion

    ACS in action

    2008-12-13T00:00:00Z

    James Lowman says the chancellor's rescue package reveals a lack of understanding of retailers

  • Opinion

    To the point: Focus to beat the downturn

    2008-12-12T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft says focus on the emerging local, price-based, just-in-time market to beat the downturn

  • Opinion

    In my view: Politics does make a difference

    2008-11-28T00:00:00Z

    Politics is not everybody's cup of tea, but you have to admit it makes a big difference to our businesses and our lives.

  • Opinion

    Think tank: Why gifting is a huge opportunity for c-stores

    2008-11-28T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM explains why gifting is a huge opportunity for c-stores that needs exploiting

  • Opinion

    The big deal

    2008-11-28T00:00:00Z

    Dave Newman has his own ideas to match the PM's plans to boost the economy and help retailers

  • Opinion

    in my view: restrict quantity not price

    2008-11-14T00:00:00Z

    As befits a debate about excessive alcohol, a lot of nonsense is currently being spoken

  • Opinion

    To the point: local is now the key driver

    2008-11-14T00:00:00Z

    The secret to surviving the hard times is to roll with the punches, advocates Alan Toft

  • Opinion

    Think tank: shopping for alcohol

    2008-11-14T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM looks at the trend for drinking alcohol at home and suggests how to exploit it

  • Opinion

    The big deal

    2008-10-31T00:00:00Z

    What recession? Dave Newman is more concerned about alcohol control proposals than share prices

  • Opinion

    In my view - 31 October 2008

    2008-10-31T00:00:00Z

    Who is really looking after shoppers these days? The big supermarkets are quick to claim it is them, of course, hence all their publicity about slashing prices for consumers.

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2008-10-17T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft wants retailers to show they’re the good guys when it comes to social responsibilty