All Opinion articles – Page 10

View all stories of the same content type.

  • Opinion

    Change is in the air

    2009-03-06T00:00:00Z

    There is a welcome shift in attitudes to the proposed ban on tobacco display.

  • Opinion

    ACS in action

    2009-03-06T00:00:00Z

    James Lowman says there are battles that can be fought and won in the tobacco display debate

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2009-03-05T00:00:00Z

    Tesco is a master at turning a negative into a positive, and Alan Toft believes indies can follow suit

  • Opinion

    think tank

    2009-03-04T00:00:00Z

    Making a meal of it

  • Opinion

    The Big Deal

    2009-02-26T00:00:00Z

    Retailer Dave Newman's sales snowballed in February as Arctic conditions hit his neighbourhood.

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2009-02-20T00:00:00Z

    In Britain the weather is always a major topic of conversation, and so true to form the recent bursts of heavy snowfall have been a real talking point in the trade.

  • Opinion

    Think tank

    2009-02-20T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM explains why going green is good for the environment and for your bottom line

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2009-02-06T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft says independents want more marketing help - not less - in today's tough times

  • Opinion

    In my view: David Rees

    2009-02-06T00:00:00Z

    Would anybody like a job? No, I m not resigning, I m asking because apparently Tesco has 10,000 new vacancies to fill and Asda has 7,000 more.

  • Opinion

    ACS in action: Government must quickly defuse a business rates time bomb

    2009-02-04T00:00:00Z

    Government must quickly defuse a business rates time bomb, says James Lowman

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2009-01-23T00:00:00Z

    The tragedy that unfolded at Fairfield Post Office, where young Craig Hodson-Walker was murdered on January 9, is a frightening example of how vulnerable neighbourhood stores can be.

  • Opinion

    Think tank

    2009-01-23T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM explains why food to go is a great opportunity that c-stores aren't exploiting

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    So there you have it. It's not peer group pressure that starts young people smoking, not parents, not irresponsible adults...

  • Opinion

    Think tank

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM says it s time to think diets and detox to ensure a healthy start to 2009

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft says new strategies could beat off the gantry ban - and has a plan of action

  • Opinion

    ACS in action

    2009-01-09T00:00:00Z

    Here ACS chief executive James Lowman predicts the political areas to hit home in 2009

  • Opinion

    ACS in action

    2008-12-13T00:00:00Z

    James Lowman says the chancellor's rescue package reveals a lack of understanding of retailers

  • Opinion

    To the point: Focus to beat the downturn

    2008-12-12T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft says focus on the emerging local, price-based, just-in-time market to beat the downturn

  • Opinion

    In my view: Politics does make a difference

    2008-11-28T00:00:00Z

    Politics is not everybody's cup of tea, but you have to admit it makes a big difference to our businesses and our lives.

  • Opinion

    Think tank: Why gifting is a huge opportunity for c-stores

    2008-11-28T00:00:00Z

    Georgina Wild of HIM explains why gifting is a huge opportunity for c-stores that needs exploiting