All Opinion articles – Page 12

View all stories of the same content type.

  • Opinion

    In my view - 17 October 2008

    2008-10-17T00:00:00Z

    When times are tough, who can you rely on? The government? The police? Your local bank? Oh dear. You can see where I m coming from on this one.

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2008-10-03T00:00:00Z

    Traditionally, retailers have had an opportunity to prosper at times of inflation, as margins could be protected or even boosted as prices rose and consumers expected them to carry on rising. But this time round it s more tricky. Raw material and...

  • Opinion

    in my view

    2008-09-19T00:00:00Z

    That s us on the front cover of C-Store. I know we re a mean-looking bunch, but these are serious times.

  • Opinion

    Think tank: Georgina Wild of HIM explains why convenience retailers should embrace additional services

    2008-09-05T00:00:00Z

    If there are any retailers out there who remain unconvinced about the importance of services – or the value of the services shopper – then hopefully these facts taken from HIM’s Convenience Tracking Programme will help convince you otherwise.

  • Opinion

    Think tank

    2008-08-22T00:00:00Z

    Customer service is all about meeting your customers expectations, says Georgina Wild of HIM

  • Opinion

    in my view - August 22 2008

    2008-08-22T00:00:00Z

    David Rees, editor

  • Opinion

    To the point

    2008-08-08T00:00:00Z

    Alan Toft puts the case for keeping your cool in the credit crunch and staying true to your aims

  • Opinion

    In my view - August 8 2008

    2008-08-08T00:00:00Z

    The current consultation on the tobacco market has the potential to damage a neighbourhood retailer s operation much more than any new supermarket opening. Calling it a consultation makes it sound very genteel, but make no mistake there are some...

  • Opinion

    Think tank warns of missed eco savings

    2007-09-07T00:00:00Z

    Government-funded energy body Enviro-wise has warned independent retailers they could be missing out on substantial savings by failing to follow a few simple energy-saving measures.