The Association of Convenience Stores (ACS) is now accepting entries for the Raj Aggarwal Trophy.

Created to celebrate outstanding community retailers, applications are welcome from any convenience store operator, independent retailers and managers of multiple-owned outlets.

Two finalists and the ultimate winner will be invited to attend ACS’ Heart of the Community conference on 12 October, where the winner will be announced at an exclusive parliamentary reception with Retail Minister Paul Scully MP.

To enter, applicants must submit a short film (maximum of five minutes), which will show:

  • What they have done in the past year to support their local community
  • What they have done in the past year to support fellow retailers

The films will be judged using the following criteria: engagement of colleagues in conceiving and delivering activity; impact on local community; sustainability of activity and overall work to support other retailers.

The judges for the Raj Aggarwal Trophy are:

  • Sunita Aggarwal
  • Managing director of James Convenience Retail Jonathan James –
  • Owner of Budgens Kenilworth Avtar Sidhu; and
  • ACS chief executive James Lowman

Entries must be received by Sarah C Johnson (sarah.johnson@acs.org.uk) at ACS by Monday 13 September.

ACS chief executive James Lowman said: “Raj was the epitome of a community-minded retailer and greatest supporter of fellow community retailers. We announced the Raj Aggarwal Trophy in his honour at last year’s Heart of the Community conference and are pleased to welcome entries to its first ever award.

“This award provides the opportunity to celebrate retailers who have been shining examples of community retailing and we look forward to receiving your entries.”