Raj aggarwal trophy

The finalists for the 2023 Raj Aggarwal Trophy have been unveiled.

Organised by the Association of Convenience Stores (ACS), the trophy will be awarded to retailers who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to community retailing over the last year, supporting their colleagues, customers and fellow retailers. The accolade was created in honour Raj Aggarwal who passed away in April 2020 during the pandemic.

The entries were judged by Sunita Aggarwal, Raj’s wife and owner of Spar Wigston; Jonathan James, managing director of James Convenience Retail, and Avtar Sidhu, owner of Budgens Kenilworth. The three finalists have been invited to attend ACS’ Heart of the Community conference in October, where they will discuss their community activity over the last year. The winner will then be voted on by retailers and suppliers in attendance and announced at an exclusive reception on the House of Commons Terrace.

The 2023 finalists are:

  • Sophie Williams, Broadway Premier
  • Sheela Keshwara, Spar Priory Road
  • Trudy Davies, Woosnam & Davies News

ACS chief executive James Lowman said: “We were delighted to receive so many entries from fantastic retailers for the third year of this award marking Raj’s legacy as an outstanding community retailer. Congratulations to all three of our finalists, we look forward to hearing from them at our Heart of the Community conference where those in attendance will choose the overall winner.”