Convenience Awards logo_horizontal

A new date and format for The Convenience Awards has been unveiled.

The event will now be held online, with The Convenience Awards is set to broadcast on Tuesday, 29 September 2020 at 5:00pm. It had been scheduled for 1 October as a face-to-face event however there is still some uncertainty around large indoor gatherings.

Log on to reserve your spot to watch the premiere of The Convenience Awards 2020 and find out the big winners from the premier event in the convenience retail industry. The awards are free to attend and open to all

The Convenience Conference, which was also due to be held on 1 October, is moving to a week-long broadcast series of webinars, panels and social media content beginning on Monday, 05 October 2020. Details on how to register will be available soon.

In a joint statement, William Reed managing director – retail & manufacturing Lorraine Hendle and Lumina Intelligence managing director Jill Livesey explained the changes to the awards and how you can get involved.

“The new Convenience Conference & Awards has continued to receive tremendous support across the industry however, as you will be aware, the uncertainty around large indoor events remains. As a result, we have taken the sensible decision to cancel our plans to hold a face-to-face event on 1 October 2020 at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London.

“Of course, we would love to be celebrating the very best from the convenience community in person, however, with that no longer possible, we have created a digital solution that will create the reach and exposure that our industry deserves and it will continue to be the biggest event in the calendar this year. Plus, you’ll be able to enjoy it wherever you choose to.”

As well as the self-entry store awards, the event will also award research-based accolades including the coveted The Shoppers’ Favourite Symbol Group.

The Convenience Awards

Tuesday 29 September 2020

The Convenience Awards goes DIGITAL. Join the very best retailers, brands, influencers and industry professionals to celebrate the convenience industry, as the winners of this year’s Convenience Awards are revealed

Brought to you by

The finalists for The Convenience Awards are:

Best Independent Store

Budgens Three Mile Cross, Reading

Centra Holywood, Belfast

Spar Y Maes, Pwllheli

Best Large Convenience Store

Budgens Arbury, Cambridge

Nisa Marsh Farm, Luton

Spar Titanic, Belfast

Best Multiple Managed Convenience Store

Centra Carrickfurgus, Co. Antrim

Heart of England Co-operative, Southam

Spar Laceby Lodge, Grimsby

Spar Roe Lane, Southport

Best New Store

Filco Bryntirion, Bridgend

Nisa Millennium View, Coventry

Scotmid Drumnadrochit, Inverness

Welcome Southwater, West Sussex

Best Small Convenience Store

Costcutter Dringhouses, York

Premier Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

The Snooty Fox Nisa, Shalford

Wilkinson Spar, Coleraine

Best Training Initiative

Empire Wines and Spirits, Southport

Go Local – Belle Vue, Middlesbrough

Scotmid Co-operative, Edinburgh

Community Retailer of the Year

Hockmeyer Motors Spar, Sleaford

Premier Eldred Drive, Orpington, Kent

Premier Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

Excellence in Sustainability

Scotmid Co-operative, Edinburgh

Thornton’s Budgens, London

Vic’s Londis, Seaview, Hampshire

Excellence in Technology

Smyth’s Eurospar, Ballymoney

Spar Loughbrickland, Co. Down

Spar Titanic, Belfast

Food To Go Retailer of the Year

David’s Kitchen, Kirkcaldy

Scotmid Thornhill, Elgin

Spar Laceby Lodge, Grimsby

Spar Titanic, Belfast

Retailers’ Retailer of the Year

Faraz Iqbal – Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

Navin Soni – Thrifty’s Fingerpost, St Helen’s

Phil Dickson – Empire Wines and Spirits, Southport

Sales Assistant of the Year

Courtney Spirling – Spar Maxol Tates Avenue, Belfast

Emily Strong – Spar Clements, Weymouth

Jo Bates – Southern Co-op, Lenham