Stores and individuals across the country have been recognised for their excellence in the shortlist for the inaugural Convenience Awards, released this week.

Convenience Awards logo_horizontal

Operators from England, Soctland, Wales and Northern Ireland are included on the list, following an extensive judging programme of store visits and evaluation by an expert panel.

The winners of each award and the overall champion Convenience Retailer of the Year will be announced at a lavish presentation evening on Thursday May 14 at Exhibition London. Despite a number of industry gatherings being postponed or cancelled due to the Covid-19 coronavirus outbreak, the event is going ahead as planned.

For more information, visit the awards website.

The full shortlist is as follows:

Best Independent Convenience Store

Budgens Three Mile Cross, Reading

Centra Holywood, Belfast

Spar Y Maes, Pwllheli


Best Large Convenience Store

Budgens Arbury, Cambridge

Nisa Marsh Farm, Luton

Spar Titanic, Belfast


Best Multiple Managed Convenience Store

Centra Carrickfergus, Co Antrim

Heart of England Co-operative, Southam

Spar Laceby Lodge, Grimsby

Spar Roe Lane, Southport


Best New Store

Filco Bryntirion, Bridgend

Nisa Millennium View, Coventry

Scotmid Drumnadrochit, Inverness

Welcome Southwater, West Sussex


Best Small Convenience Store

Costcutter Dringhouses, York

Premier Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

The Snooty Fox Nisa, Shalford

Wilkinson Spar, Coleraine


Best Training Initiative

Empire Wines & Spirits, Southport

Go Local Belle Vue, Middlesbrough

Scotmid Co-operative, Edinburgh


Community Retailer of the Year

Hockmeyer Motors (Spar), Sleaford

Premier Eldred Drive, Kent

Premier Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy


Excellence in Sustainability

Scotmid Co-operative, Edinburgh

Thornton’s Budgens, London

Vic’s Londis, Seaview, Hampshire


Excellence in Technology

Smyth’s Eurospar, Ballymoney

Spar Loughbrickland, Co Down

Spar Titanic, Belfast


Food to Go retailer of the Year

David’s Kitchen, Kirkcaldy

Scotmid Thornhill, Elgin

Spar Laceby Lodge, Grimsby

Spar Titanic, Belfast


Retailers’ Retailer of the Year

Faraz Iqbal, Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

Navin Soni, Thrifty’s, St Helen’s

Phil Dickson, Empire Wines and Spirits, Southport


Sales Assistant of the Year

Courtney Spirling, Spar Maxol Tates Avenue, Belfast

Emily Strong, Spar Clements, Weymouth

Jo Bate, Southern Co-op, Lenham